INTRODUCTION

После прочтения книги "A Wartime Memoir" Каролины Ланцкороньскей я решил изучить все обстоятельства, касающиеся негуманных медицинских экспериментов над 74 женщинами из Равенсбрюк лагеря. В особенности я был поражен героическим поведением всех лиц, переживших эти эксперименты, и небывалой поддержкой, оказанной им всеми сотоварищами по заключению в Равенсюбрюке.

Я был очень огорчен отсутствием в Интернете надлежащей информации на английском языке о произошедшем. Так родилась идея этой веб-страницы.

Я попытался использовать все доступные материалы об отвратительной истории концлагеря Равенсбрюк. В большинстве это были воспоминания бывших узников. Одной из этих книг стала "And I am afraid of my dreams" Ванды Полтавской. В повествовательной форме автор показывет ее личный опыт жизни в качестве подопытного кролика. Госпожа Полтавска была одной из тех 74 женщин, у кого индуцировали возникновение ран путем искусственного бактериального инфицирования.Наиболее важным источником информации о 74 случаях медицинских экспериментов в концлагере Равенсбрюк является монография "Experimental operations on prisoners of Ravensbrьck Concentration Camp" под редакцией Ванды Махлейд, изданная в Польше в 1960 году.

Информация о других аспектах жизни в лагере получена из трех книг, две из которых написаны бывшими узниками. Первая это отличное изложение фактов с богатой библиографией (к сожалению доступно только на польском языке) Ванды Кедржиньской. Вторая это книга Тильйон Жермен. Обе книги вышли под названием Равенсбрюк. Третья книга "Ravensbrьck - Every day life in a Women's Concentration Camp 1939-1945" Джека Г.Моррисона содержит изложенный в популярной форме интереснейший анализ социальной и культурной жизни в лагере. Я рекомендую эту книгу как вводный курс для более углубленных исследований предмета.

Список всех моих источников представлен в отдельном разделе веб-страницы.

Главным источником биографической информации о нацистских врачах содержится в сборнике "The Nuremberg Medical Trial 1946/47 Transcripts, Material of the Prosecution and Defence, Related documents",изданной под редакцией группы немецких историков в форме микрофильма.историков в форме микрофильма.

Интернет стал неотъемлимым средством в моих исследованиях. Я поддерживаю контакт по электронной почте с Янушем Тайхертом из Польши, который создал собственную веб-страницу о концлагере Равенсбрюк. Большое количество информации, размещенной на этой странице, получено от господина Тайхерта.

Информация, содержащаяся на странице, отражает преимущественно польскую точку зрения при изложении фактов о концлагере Равенсбрюк. Из этого, конечно, не следует, что роль всех других национальных или политических груп узников, пребывавших там, является менее важной.

Translated from English by Volodymyr Semeniv.

After reading the book "A Wartime Memoir" by Karolina Lanckorońska a former prisoner in the Ravensbrück Concentration Camp, I decided to learn more about circumstances surrounding the inhuman medical experiments conducted on 74 polish women, who were the political prisoners in the camp. I was particularly moved by the heroic stance of the survivors of the experiments and incredible support they received from all Ravensbrück's inmates.

I was disappointed, when I found how little is presented on the Internet on the subject in the English language. That is why, this website project had been started.
I tried to use the available resources on the gruesome subject of the Ravensbrück concentration camp; most of them were memoirs of the survivors. One of these is the book "And I am afraid of my dreams" by Wanda Półtawska. In the narrative form the author shows her personal experiences as a guinea-pig in the concentration camp. Mrs Półtawska was one of the first among 74 women to whom wounds were inflicted by the doctors followed by the artificially applied bacterial infection.

The most important source of information about the 74 cases of medical experiments in the Ravensbrück Concentration Camp is monography "Experimental operations on prisoners of Ravensbrück Concentration Camp" edited by Wanda Machlejd, published in Poland in 1960.

The information about other aspects of the concentration camp came mainly from four books, two by former prisoners of the camp; the first, the excellent source of facts about the camp with bibliography (unfortunately a book is available only in polish version), by Wanda Kiedrzyńska and the second by Tillion Germaine, both titled "Ravensbrück". The third book "Ravensbrück - Every day life in a Women's Concentration Camp 1939-1945" by Jack G. Morrison is a very interesting analysis of the social and cultural life in the camp, presented in a popular form. I recomend the book as the introduction to more serious studies on the subject of the camp. For those who are interested in the serious studies about the Ravensbrück concentration camp, I recomend the book by Bernhard Strebel "Das KZ Ravensbrück. Geschichte eines Lagerkomplexes"

The list of all my references is presented on a separate page of the website.

The main source of the biographical information about the Nazi doctors was "The Nuremberg Medical Trial 1946/47 Transcripts, Material of the Prosecution and Defence, Related documents" edited by group of German historians in form of microfiche.

The Internet became indispensable tool in my research. I keep e-mail contact with Janusz Tajchert from Poland who has been developing his own website about the Ravensbrück Concentration Camp. A great amount of the information placed on these pages has come from him, and Mrs. Anna Hassa Jarosky, whose mother, Mrs. Jadwiga Dzido was a former political prisoner in the Ravensbruck Concentration Camp and a victim of the medical experiments conducted in the camp.

The information on the website takes primarily the Polish perspective when presenting facts about the Ravensbrück Concentration Camp. From this, should not be inferred that the other national or political groups of prisoners and the role they played in the camp's community might be less important.

Jarek Gajewski